Sligv Vreen Orxy

George Carlin: I didn’t like his humor

Posted in Essays by Sligv Vreen Orxy on May 24, 2009

I grew up watching George Carlin as Mr. Conductor in Shining Time Station and used to love his narration in the Thomas stories, I don’t enjoy the newer Alec Baldwin ones and think that the singing children are a tad irritating. Nonetheless, it’s always going to be something that I remember being obsessed with growing up. I never realized that Shining Time Station didn’t last that long, seems like all the best children shows on PBS have vanished.

My dad had George Carlin on the TV the other day, since we have On Demand and can watch anything we want that’s on there and they have a stand up section. I happened to walk in when he was talking about America and how we show too much pride for a country that is governed by people that force us to give them what they want. None of that really bothered me, it was when he got to religion that I started to get a bit annoyed.

Now, I’m not a religious person, never have, probably never will. I do pray, but it’s like, I only do it to add a bit of spiritual luck in my life. I always ask for my family and friends to be kept in good health and to give them happiness, that’s as far as it goes. Carlin implies that we spend too much money and that we get nothing back from it… Well, I’m always going to be happy to provide a dollar or two to my local church to keep it open for those that need it. I don’t nessiarly think it’s going to God, but if it pays for a new coat of paint or to buy supplies for the Confraternity of Christian Doctrine programs, then I’m fine with it. Pay for what you use the most, because you’re the one who’s keeping it alive.

He also thinks that praying is no good and you’re better off praying to someone that can actually help you, well, I feel that when I pray, it’s my way of admitting to things I’ve done and tells me that I’m not the idiot that knows nothing like some people believe me to be, it helps me deal with my problems better in some sort of way.

Another thing he spoke about was children, and you know, being on a children’s television show, I would have thought he’d at least respected them. The first thing he said was that there was nothing hard about raising a child, and said you should leave them on the street and if they were there the following week, that your kid was “stupid.” He also said that every child is not special, and that’s just something I disagree about because I look around at my brother’s school and everyone reacts differently to things. You have one kid who cries, one kid who laughs, another who gets in shocked, etc. I think everyone’s special in the way they’re brought up, taught, and use their knowledge to achieve their goals.

So I don’t particularly agree with anything the man said, and I think he makes some controversial points, however I will say that this man has served the entertainment industry for a long time now, doing a lot of great for Hollywood. I didn’t realize he died last year until today, well, RIP, and takes for allowing me to write a great article!

Leave a Reply

